

POLICY COMMITTEE

May 18th, 2023 6:00 P.M. SUB/<u>Zoom</u>

The University of Alberta and the University of Alberta Students' Union occupy Indigenous land in amiskwacîswâskahikan (Beaver Hills House), on Treaty 6 territory. From time immemorial, the banks along the river valley have been known as the Pehonan, a meeting place for the nêhiyawak (Cree), the Niitsítapi (Blackfoot), Métis, Dënesųliné (Dene), Ojibway/Saulteaux/Anishinaabe, Haudenosaunee and others. The University, the Students' Union and much of the city are located on the unlawfully stolen land of the forcibly removed Papaschase Cree.

We acknowledge that sharing this land gives each of us the responsibility to research the historic contexts of Treaty 6, to reflect on our personal relationships to the land, the Nations we've named, and to our roles in upholding justice on this territory. Since they began, the Students' Union and the University have benefited from historic and ongoing dispossession of land and resources from Indigenous Peoples. As a result, it is our responsibility to seek the restitution of this land and its resources. Finally, we seek to do better by working to make our learning, research, and governance align with the histories, languages, teachings, and cultures of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Peoples in the land presently occupied by the Canadian state.

We encourage critical reflection by asking the following question. In relation to the territory on which you are situated, what role do you play in strengthening the resistance and resurgence of Indigenous students within your communities?

ATTENDANCE

NAME	PROXY	PRESENT
Pedro Almeida		Υ
Chris Beasley		Y
Michael Griffiths		Y
Adrian Lam		Υ
Precious Majekodunmi		Y
Mason Pich		Y
Nathan Thiessen		Υ
Courtney Graham		N/A
Jetro Dano		N/A

MINUTES (PC-2023-00-M)

2023-00/1 INTRODUCTION

2023-00/1a Call to Order

GRAHAM called the meeting to order at 6:06 PM

2023-00/1b Approval of Agenda

TABLED

2023-00/1c Approval of Minutes

2023-00/1d Chair's Business

2023-00/2 QUESTION/DISCUSSION PERIOD

2023-00/3 <u>COMMITTEE BUSINESS</u>

2023-00/3a Chair Selection

LAM nominated THIESSEN- accepted

MAJEKODUNMI nominated herself- accepted ALMEIDA nominated BEASLEY- declined

MAJEKODUNMI is declared Policy Committee Chair via secret ballot.

MAJEKODUNMI: Confirms that the meeting schedule works for the

committee.

2023-00/4 <u>INFORMATION ITEMS</u>

2023-00/5 ADJOURNMENT

MAJEKODUNMI adjourned the meeting at 6:26 PM